You are currently viewing Updated – IPL Orange Cap Winners List (2008 – 2024)

Updated – IPL Orange Cap Winners List (2008 – 2024)

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Blog

Cricket fans around the world have witnessed the Indian Premier League (IPL) as a unique league that features both entertaining and high-powered cricket. Since its establishment in 2008, IPL has attracted some of the best batsmen all over the world with an orange cap for the highest run scorer in every season. This special hat symbolizes consistency, power and skill needed to remain on the crease. In this article, we will review IPL seasons from 2008 to 2024 and identify those batsmen who won Orange Cap leaving a lasting impression on this tournament.

2008: Shaun Marsh (Kings XI Punjab)

In era one, Australian batsman Shaun Marsh belonging to Kings XI Punjab led by scoring 616 runs in eleven matches. The stylish batting of Marsh would be crucial in setting up tone for future tournaments.

2009: Matthew Hayden (Chennai Super Kings)

Orange Cap is earned by Matthew Hayden from Chennai Super Kings who scored 572 runs in twelve matches in 2009. His hard hitting style of batting was instrumental in CSK’s victorious campaign.

2010: Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians)

Orange Cap was awarded to legendary Sachin Tendulkar playing for Mumbai Indians as he amassed 618 runs in fifteen games during the year under review. Tendulkar’s classical technique combined with his adaptability to the T20 format was a treat for cricket fans.

2011: Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Chris Gayle’s firework-like batting earned him an Orange Cap after he scored 608 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore played twelve games during that season. Presence of Gayle at crease was like a favorite player.

2012: Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

In two thousand and twelve Chris Gale became a winner again[?] achieving it for another time having scored seven hundred thirty-three points among fifteen competitions. He was one of the biggest hitters for sixes in that season.

2013: Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings)

In 2013, Michael Hussey of Chennai Super Kings was the highest scorer with a total of 733 runs from seventeen matches. CSK’s triumph in that year was largely due to his consistency and ability to bat through.

2014: Robin Uthappa (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Robin Uthappa from Kolkata Knight Riders is the Orange Cap holder for the year having scored 660 runs playing sixteen matches. Uthappa played an aggressive yet dependable role in KKR’s title winning campaign.

2015: David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

David Warner won the Orange Cap for amassing 562 runs in fourteen games while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad during 2015. He began each innings on a high note, providing a strong base-ball throughout.

2016: Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

A record-breaking number of 973 runs in sixteen fixtures played by Virat Kohli helped him win an orange cap among Royal Challengers Bangalore players in 2016. The outstanding performance together with great captaincy were key highlights of that season.

2017: David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

David warner retained Orange Cap again after his remarkable performance earned him a total of 641 runs in fourteen matches held during the year. For Sunrisers Hyderabad, he was their best batsman at the top order consistently delivering good scores.

2018: Kane Williamson (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Williamson outshone any other batsman as an orange cap winner after making huge total points by scoring seven hundred thirty-five against his seventeen opponents thus far. His classical batting style and leadership qualities helped guide his team to finals.

2019: David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

David Warner continued to be a dominant force in 2019, winning the Orange Cap for the third time with 692 runs in 12 matches. What made Warner exceptional was his explosive batting and big scoring ability.

2020: KL Rahul (Kings XI Punjab)

In 2020, Kings XI Punjab’s KL Rahul turned out to be the top scorer of all time by collecting a total of 670 runs over the course of 14 games. This was because Rahul had always been consistent and could switch into different plays.

2021: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Chennai Super Kings)

Ruturaj Gaikwad won the orange cap in IPL 2021 with a sum of 635 from sixteen appearances that he won. It is not easy to play such strokes at this age; however, Gaikwad managed it very well in the victorious campaign for CSK.

2022: Jos Buttler (Rajasthan Royals)

Jos Buttler won the orange cap with an outstanding record of 863 runs during seventeen matches played by him for Rajasthan Royals during IPL season in 2022. The point here is that he batted aggressively throughout every match hence helping his team win single-handedly some contests.

2023: Shubman Gill (Gujarat Titans)

In terms of batting alone, Shubman Gill was the leading run-scorer with a total score of eight hundred ninety runs spread across seventeen matches in IPL season of year twenty twenty three for Gujarat Titans. In Gujarat Titans’ remarkable display that term, Gill had an elegant style and consistency.

2024: Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Indian player Virat Kolhi earned himself an orange cap at Indian Premier League (IPL) edition twenty four after recording seven hundred forty one runs from fifteen games only.


From power hitting to elegant play, the IPL orange cap winners have changed a great deal from 2008 until 2024. These players have broken new grounds in terms of excellence and they’ve also been an interesting to watch over the years. Consequently, it is expected that the race for the orange cap will be one of the most exciting parts of the IPL as it continues to grow and celebrate some amazing batting performances each season. Online platforms such as 99 exchange allow fans to increase their involvement with cricket thus giving more popularity competition for Orange Cap.